Happy Birthday to Us!

Happy Birthday 2

We’re celebrating our blog’s first birthday!

It seems unbelievable that a year has passed since we posted our first story about making homemade stock.

As I said in that first post, launching a blog during the early days of January was hardly inventive, but it seemed a good time to put perspective into the way we live our life. For the past year, we’ve shared our successes and our failures. It didn’t seem to matter what we wrote about, you faithfully read our adventures. You will never know how much we appreciate it!

I believe this blog is perhaps one of the smartest things I’ve ever done. It made me evaluate who I was unlike anything else and finally convinced me to make changes I so desperately needed to make. Weekly photo sessions forced me to look at myself realistically. It didn’t take long for me to realize that I wasn’t a happy fat chick, as I often described myself. Instead, I was exhausted, bloated, sick, and a depressed woman.

But because of this blog, I finally confronted all the junk I was putting into my body in addition to our healthy meals. The snacking, the grazing, the late-night calorie consumption that fed a chronic sugar addiction starving my body’s ability to heal itself or have a healthy lifestyle is nearly gone. Writing has lead to changes that I couldn’t have believed possible.

If you had told me a year ago that today I would be 50 pounds lighter and wearing skirts again, I would have laughed in your face. There is no doubt that this has been a year of transformation as I said goodbye to soda, eliminated processed sugar, and gathered enough courage to take a yoga class. Thank goodness, I am not the same woman that I was a year ago.

My passion about whole food, healthy living, canning, and sustainability is still there. Only now, it is ignited by my passion that good nutrition can cure almost anything. You just have to be willing to let go of the myths we’ve spun. And you have to be brave enough to discover the truth about nutrition, such as choosing not to eat anything green is childish. Choosing to believe that manufactured food is better than what is grown a in a garden is ridiculous. The truth is, we are what we eat. When you eat processed food, your body will become a toxic wasteland where you have no resistance to stress nor ability to fight off whatever is going around.

Medical professionals won’t tell you this, nor will they consider nutrition as the first defense against illness. Could it be that we’d rather have a pill rather than a plate of greens? Or a procedure rather than give up sweet tea or pizza? Possibly. Could it be that if Americans became better educated about nutrition the first industry to suffer would be pharmaceutical? Frankly, I believe its because medical professionals know that most people won’t listen. And that they are just as disillusioned and cynical as anyone.

It doesn’t have to be that way. It’s easy to implement change. Don’t worry, I’m not going to turn this blog into a continued discussion about weight loss and turnip greens. Despite Everything is about discovering food and life again. I’m not an expert, nor am I a nutritionist. But for me, weight loss is the by-product of healthy nutrition, not starvation.

What will 2013 bring to Despite Everything? We’ll do our best to be inventive and entertaining. You’ll see more recipe development that teaches basic nutrition. You’ll see more posts about our garden. We’ve already begun planning what we’ll grow this year. And, you’ll see more stories about our critters and life here at Chez Medlock.

One of our most poplar features was Other Voices, where guest writers participated in Tomatopalozza, my annual tomato canning bonanza. I loved reading stories from my friends about their canning adventures. From the number of hits we had during Tomatopalozza, you loved reading their stories too. There will be more opportunities for guest writers in 2013. Many of my friends are beginning paths toward better nutrition, and I’m hoping they’ll share their journeys. And we’ll take peeks into other people’s gardens to see that urban farmers are everywhere.

I was once asked why I didn’t release stories on a regular basis. The thing is, I never know when the need to write will overwhelm me. Or where the next blog post will come from. Sometimes the best posts come from the smallest inspirations. Believe it or not, I have refrained from making everything I do a blog post. After all, nobody really needs to know that I’ve cleaned out my closet or organized my herbs.

Backbends

He cooks, he gardens, and he does back bends to install under-cabinet lighting.

So how does a blog celebrate a birthday? I don’t really know, so we’re celebrating by finally installing under-cabinet lighting. When we built our new kitchen, we couldn’t find the type of lighting we wanted. So we decided to be patient and wait. We’ve been working in the dark ever since. It’s a wonder we’ve been able to cook or clean anything for the past year because there isn’t a lot of natural light in the space.  While it’s been frustrating, I’m glad we waited because now we have the exact wireless lighting plan we wanted.

All things come in good time…Despite Everything.

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Us!

  1. Happy Birthday! As a medical professional, albeit new to the whole prescribing thing, I agree whole-heartedly with your take on nutrition. Certainly there is a time for prescription drugs but the overuse and over prescribing is rampant. I fully believe that the preservatives in food today cause many symptoms that lead to the use of medications! Keep up the good work…I look forward to what “Despite Everything” has in store for 2013!

    • Thanks Denise!!! I totally agree, there are times for prescriptions and procedures. Thank goodness, we have them. I hope I wasn’t too flippant. After I hit the publish button, I had a fleeting thought that perhaps I had gone too far. But I think everyone is disillusioned about why we’re so sick. Your comments have made me feel better.

Leave a Reply

