My Favorite Soup Recipes

Soup is the perfect food as far as I’m concerned.

We love soup, which is a good thing because I make a pot of it just about every week. I’ve shared several of my recipes before. I have my veggie soup; sometimes it has meat, sometimes it doesn’t. Our son loves my chicken noodle soup that includes a few extra veggies. (A mother has to do, what a mother has to do!) My favorites are the hearty, earthy blends of lentils or greens. My Beloved doesn’t care as long as someone else cooks. He’ll eat anything.

A few years after we married, my father-in-law, Earl, had open heart surgery. Afterwards, he said nothing tasted right. However the one thing he wanted during his recovery was soup. So each weekend, we’d take a stockpot full of soup to him and Vince’s stepmother. The next day, he would call and tell me that whatever I made was their favorite. It didn’t matter what it was. My semi-truck-driving, bearded, rough-and-tumble father-in-law loved my cooking. And I loved him for eating whatever I put in front of him. He used to say that after eating at truck stops across the country, anything that was home-cooked was delicious. Because of him, I developed several good recipes and gained enough confidence to experiment beyond my mother’s most excellent chili recipe. I know if he were with us now, he’d snicker at my turnip greens, but he’d eat every bite.

photo(6)

There’s nothing better on a cold, rainy day than a bowl of chili.

Mother’s Most Excellent Chili
When we were growing up, we knew that if it snowed, Mother would make chili. There would be plenty of leftovers, so we’d eat chili for days. There was always a warm bowl of chili waiting for us when we finished sledding or building snow forts. Even today, I can guarantee that if there’s snow in the forecast , that same stock pot is bubbling on my sister’s stove. And it’s full of chili, just like Mother used to make. Nowadays, I substitute organic black beans for the Bush Mild Chili Beans and add a bit more chili powder.

2 lbs lean ground beef
1 quart of canned tomatoes
1 quart canned tomato juice
2 cups beef broth (or you can use 1 16-ounce beef broth)
3 cans of Bush Mild Chili Beans (or you can use dried organic beans that are soaked overnight)
1 medium onion
3T chili powder
2 garlic cloves

Saute garlic cloves and onion in an seasoned iron skillet. Add ground beef. Drain fat from skillet. In a heavy stock pot, place canned tomatoes, tomato juice, beef broth, and chili beans. Add browned beef, onions, and garlic. Stir well. Add 2T of chili powder. Salt and pepper to taste. Cook slowly on stove for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally until mixture reduces by 1/3. Add the last remaining 1T of chili pepper. Serve warm.

Meatball Soup

I love hearty soups like meatball soup that features  turnip greens and mushrooms. It has a earthy taste that is perfect on a cold day.

Meatball Soup with Greens and Mushrooms
I make several dozen meatballs at a time and keep them in the freezer. My favorite soup these days is meatball soup that features turnip greens and mushrooms. A few weeks ago, I served brunch for several friends and family members. I served a couple different soups, including my meatball soup. Everyone was intrigued, and bless their hearts, a few hearty souls even tried it after I explained the turnip greens. To my delight, those who tried it went back for seconds and thirds. You can use homemade beef broth or boxed beef broth.

Prep time: 30 minutes, serves 6

18 cooked meatballs (you can use frozen meatballs or leftovers)
2 cups of cooked turnip greens (or kale!)
2 cups beef broth (or you can use 1 16-ounce box of beef broth)
2 carrots
1 cup mushrooms (can be fresh or dried mushrooms)
1 medium onion (or leeks)
2 cloves garlic
2 T butter
1/2 cup water
1 cup dumpling noodles

If frozen, cook meatballs in oven on a roasting pan. In a heavy stockpot, brown a couple cloves of garlic in butter. Add turnip greens, mushrooms, onions, and carrot. Cook until crispy. Add 1/2 cup water and one box of beef broth. Add meatballs. Then add noodles, salt, and pepper. When noodles are cooked, it’s ready. Top with shredded Parmesan cheese.

Bean Bowl o Soupin

A tender blend of dried lentils along with a few leftovers creates a twist for hearty soup.

Bean Bowl o’ Soupin’
When my Beloved was a little boy, he loved lentils. He would beg his mother to make Bean Bowl o’Soupin’, which she’d gladly do.  Here is my version of his favorite childhood soup.

1 cup of 9 Variety Dried Beans
2 cups beef broth (or you can use 1 16-ounce box of beef broth)
2 cups cooked ham
2 cups turnip greens
2 carrots
1 medium onion
1 cup barley
2 T summer savory
1 T oregano

Soak beans overnight (at least 12 hours). Drain and rinse. In a heavy stockpot, cook beans in water for 45 minutes. Add cooked ham, turnip greens, carrots, and onion. Add beef broth. Cook slowly for 1 hour. Add summer savory and oregano along with salt and pepper to taste.

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Soup Recipes

    • LOL! I completely understand! The greens add to the earthiness of the meatball soup, frankly you don’t even realize they are there because of all the other flavors.

  1. Pingback: Dinner on a Wednesday Night | Despite Everything...

Leave a Reply

