Because I Have Nothing Else To Do #NaBloPoMo2014

imageIt’s official, I’ve lost my mind and joined National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo). Each day in November, I’ve pledged to post something (photo, poem, recipe, or haiku) to Despite Everything. Considering I haven’t posted anything to this blog since May, this will either be the jump start I need or it will become something that I’ll easily forget. Either way, I’m up for the creative challenge and looking forward to writing here once again. After all, I have nothing else to do, right? Cough. Cough.

So what is NaBloPoMo?

National Blog Posting Month began in November 2006, as a response to National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWrMo) where participants pledge to write a 50,000-word novel in month. I might be crazy, but I’m not that crazy. Although, I met the inspiration for a character this week, when I turned down the wrong road and came to face-to-face with a woman named Ida.

I’ve missed writing posts for Despite Everything. I’m sure my siblings were relieved when I stopped publishing photos on the internet from our parent’s photo albums. I’m also sure our friends were relieved that every dinner or adventure stopped being inspiration for a new blog post. I, too, was relieved to rid myself of an overwhelming responsibility to be clever. At the time I stopped writing, I needed to simply live life. Not write about it.

So if I was so relieved, why did I sign up for a 30-day writing challenge? The most simple answer is, why not? I loved the feeling of accomplishment of pushing the WordPress publish button. I loved how our readers responded to what we had to say or what we were trying to accomplish. I loved how it connected me to friends and family. I loved that despite all the reasons I stopped writing, people kept reading. Everyday, readers found their way to this blog and our Facebook page. From time-to-time, people even would stop me and ask when was I going to start writing again.

So here we go — 30 days of new blog posts. I can’t promise that they’ll be clever or even inspirational. But for the next 30 days, you can count on something being published. I’ve created a special tab on the menu bar so that you can keep up. I’ll need encouragement along the way, so make sure to drop me a comment. Or two. Or everyday. After all, I’m sure you have nothing better to do too.

Let’s do this!

3 thoughts on “Because I Have Nothing Else To Do #NaBloPoMo2014

  1. I also have nothing to do with myself so I found myself signing up for yet another year of this crazy challenge, having done it on my previous blogs. I’ll be stopping by every now and then to remind you that I am, indeed, here reading.

Leave a Reply

