If it’s Sunday, it’s Laundry Day

imageWe’ve been married for 23 years. Lucky for me, we share most of the household tasks. We cook together, we clean house together, and we work in our yard together. We avoid washing the windows together. Without Vince’s help, I could never accomplish everything my mother taught me are necessary household chores. But in all these years, I alone have had the sole responsibility of doing laundry.

Every Saturday morning, Sam and I deliver our dirty duds to the laundry room. Most of the time, he dumps it in the middle of the floor. If I’ve left some clue to which basket is for jeans and which basket is for black t-shirts, he’ll go ahead and sort. Otherwise, he’ll leave it for me to deal with.

Vince on the other hand, leaves his dirty duds piled in the bathroom. Sometimes, he’ll pick them up and dump them on my pile of dirty duds in our bedroom. But most of the time, there’s a growing tower of dirty laundry beside the shower. For years, I would pick it up for him. Then I decided that, as a grown man, he can see the non-compliant structure being built in our bathroom. If he does manage to take his dirty duds to the laundry room, he won’t attempt to sort as my method befuddles him. Unlike our son, he won’t just add his jeans to the dirty jeans basket. I’ve tried to teach him how to sort, but he can’t comprehend its simplicity: whites, grays and khakis, colors, navy and black, and jeans. He overthinks it by considering the density of each item. Washing sheets with towels doesn’t make sense to him. Washing white sheets and white towels together makes perfect sense to me.

Probably more than I realize, over the years Vince has tackled loads of laundry for me. Sometimes, I’ll ask. Sometimes, it’s from necessity. He never complains, and bless his heart, in the last few weeks he’s even been helping fold and putting things away.

At Chez Medlock, doing laundry is a six-step process. Anything less isn’t “doing laundry.”

Step One: Collecting the dirty laundry.

Step Two: Sorting the dirty laundry.

Step Three: Washing each load following a specific order of priority.
a. Two loads of whites
i. Sheets and towels
ii. Everything else that is white
b. One load of gray and khaki
c. One load of colors
d. One load of navy and black
e. One load of jeans

Step Four: Drying the clean laundry.

Step Five: Folding the clean laundry.

Step Six: Putting away the clean laundry.

This is where I will disclose that my clothing doesn’t actually get put away. Once sorted, things that aren’t hung in my closet stay dumped on the laundry room counter. I don’t have enough storage, but then what woman does?

Sundays are laundry day. I’ve tried doing laundry during the week, but frankly it drives me crazy. I’ll forget a step, or worse, I’ll forget that I started a load only to discover it the following Sunday. Yeeks!

No matter what else I’m doing on a Sunday, doing laundry seems to naturally fit in. So here, on NaBloPoMo Day 2, I’m spending the day going through the Medlock Six-Step Process of Laundry Day. Other things might get accomplished or they might not. But at least we’ll have clean clothes for the week.

So what’s your laundry routine? Leave a comment below and tell me how you make the world a cleaner place by doing laundry.

2 thoughts on “If it’s Sunday, it’s Laundry Day

  1. Catching up on your blog while I wait for the heat guys (again), and I am reminded again why Cheyenne often makes comments that Nathan and I are a copy of ya’ll. Reading Vince’s laundry habits made me laugh- exactly like Nathan hahaha. Sunday’s are generally laundry days for us too, but we end up needing blacks halfway through the week sometimes. And step 6 is a joke in our house too. Sometimes it ends up being step 1 the next Sunday.

    • I’ve giggled all week about that silly post. Since I published that blog post, my Beloved has carried his dirty duds to the laundry room and sorted it! He’s earned lots of gold stars.

Leave a Reply

